Login NowClose 
Sign In to chronicle-tribune.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Giant wrestlers capture Maconaquah Invite

Marion finished 5-0 Saturday at the Maconaquah Super Duals and won the team championship for the third straight year.

In the final round, the Giants edged out Lewis Cass 39-36 and Victor Lee’s victory at 220 pounds clinched the match. Marion also defeated Tri-Central 59-24; Lapel 39-38; Tipton 39-33, and Rossville 46-36.

Wrestlers finishing 5-0 were David Cannon and Daylen Johnson.

Wrestlers finishing 4-1 were Troy Smith, Obett Martinez, Garrett Scher and Lee.

Wrestlers finishing 3-2 were Taylor Garriott, Nicolas Elliott and Tyron Rice.

Marion took 10 wrestlers to compete in the Adam Central JV Invitational. Charlie Macomber, Corey Rice, and Kaleb Starr finished 5-0. Devonte Black finished 3-0 and Abdi Steenburgh finished 4-1.

The Giants are 10-1 and will compete again Saturday in the Western Invitational.

Oak Hill captures Elwood Super Duals.

The Golden Eagles finished 5-0 for first place Saturday in the eight-team Elwood Super Duals and eight wrestlers were recognized as class champions.

Winning their class with 5-0 records were Peytonn Bowland (106), Harper Dedman (113), Aidan Hardcastle (120), Gage Kelly (132) and Bradley Rosman (182).

Finishing 4-1 and winning their class were Bhupesh Chauhan (126), Julian Garcia (152) and Stewart Mossholder (195).

Also finishing 4-1 were Tyler Miller (138), Jett Thompson (160) and Fred Durben (220).

Riley Wert (170) finished with a 3-2 record.

Oak Hill wrestles Wednesday at Taylor High School.

Argylls fifth at South Adams

Madison-Grant placed won three of five matches Saturday and finished fifth out of eight teams in the South Adams Invitational.

The Argylls defeated Wapahani 49-24; Woodlan 47-22, and Fort Wayne Snider 48-24 while losing to South Adams (48-27) and Harrison (57-36).

Finishing 5-0 for the Argylls were Dannion Barton (126 pounds), Steven Frye (182) and Dakota Cates (220).

Finishing 4-1 were Zeb Taylor (120), Jaren Glass (152) and AJ Jones (285).

Finishing 3-2 were Trevor Vannatta (113) and Justin Doan (170).